Running with kitchen shears.

breakfast, lunch, dinner, cupcakes, tastiness.

*Gasp!* June 7, 2009

Filed under: Light,recipes — Mox. @ 4:29 pm

I’m sorry, loyal reader-life has been…well, pretty crazy the past few months and has left me little time for thinking about blogging, much less for the actual blogging itself. I promise to rectify this soon. I had a birthday, surgery, and a good deal stuff I just didn’t want to deal with. Good news is, I’m getting my ass back to school for the Fall semester. I won’t be able to take any of my actual culinary classes due to scheduling restrictions (one of my coworkers will be taking maternity leave in October so I’ll have to pick up part of her shift), but I’ll have all of my core classes completed-yay! I have two new recipes just today, some nifty cookies from the queen of awesome and entertaining, Martha Stewart, and a super-easy dinner that I was shocked to receive official “J approval” on. Onward!

Cowboy Cookies

 
Cowboy Cookies

-2 c all-purpose flour
-1 tsp baking soda
-1 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-8 oz (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
-3/4 c granulated sugar
-3/4 c light-brown sugar
-2 large eggs
-1 tsp pure vanilla extract
-1 1/2 cups oats
-1 c semisweet chocolate chips (or 6 oz semisweet chocolate, cut into 1/4″ chunks)
-3/4 c roughly chopped walnuts (or pecan halves)
-1/2 c shredded coconut

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment. Sift flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder into a medium bowl.

2. Beat butter and sugars with a mixer on medium-high until pale and creamy, about 3 minutes. Reduce speed to meium. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla (I forgot to do this until after the next step-oops! Martha, thankfully, didn’t pop out of a corner and sock me in the eye).

3. Reduce speed to low, and slowly add flour imxture, beating until just incorporated (if you have a Kitchenaid, I had best luck adding this on the “Stir” speed). Beat in oats, chocolate, nuts, and coconut until combined. (At this point, the dough can be refrigerated up to 3 days. I made them right away.)

4. Using a spoon, drop dough onto baking sheets, spacing 3 inches apart.

5. Bake until edges of cookies begin to brown, 11to 13 minutes. Transfer baking sheets to wire rack, and let cool for 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to racks. Let cool. (I baked the cookies for 6 minutes, then rotated the baking sheets and finished baking to ensure even doneness).

The recipe states that it makes about 5 dozen, but that would be seriously tiny cookies. We don’t like tiny cookies around here (except for macarons-they’re allowed as they’re just special like that). I made about 25 cookies about the size of my palm. These were awesome because I had the exact amount of walnuts, coconut, and chocolate chips I needed just sitting in my pantry begging to be used and taking up space. This recipe is adapted from Martha Stewart Living’s October 2008 Cookie of the Month.

 

Tomatillo Roll-Up

-1 (3 1/2 – 4 lb) rotisserie chicken, shredded
-1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
-1 c tomatillo sauce (green salsa/salsa verde)
-3 roma tomatoes, diced
-1 head broccoli, cut into small florets and steamed
-4 pcs thin flatbread or tortillas, warmed
-1just-ripe avocado, diced

1. In a medium bowl, combine chicken, onion, tomatillo sauce and tomatoes. Add the steamed broccoli and toss.

2. Divide among the flatbread or tortillas, top with avocado, and roll up.

I told you it was easy! Usually, if I don’t cuss or sweat at least once during making dinner, J doesn’t like it but he was a big fan of this, thank God! I’ve been working on finding quick but still decent meals (the kind that don’t make me angry and also don’t involve processed cheese or anything out of a squirt bottle-those things also make me angry).

I missed you, my one faithful reader (hi Mom!)-I promise I’ll be back more frequently, and with more pictures too!

 

Leave a Reply

