Running with kitchen shears.

breakfast, lunch, dinner, cupcakes, tastiness.

Turkey Lurkey July 6, 2008

Filed under: food,recipes — Mox. @ 1:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

Yes, another recipe for turkey burgers. I believe that brings our grand total to 2. I like recipes like this, where I can sneak a little bit of vegetables in without J complaining about there not being enough meat. I think I’ll be doing more like this though, as we’re trying to cut down on our meat/poultry consumption a bit.

Turkey Burgers with Grated Zucchini and Carrot

-3/4 lb ground turkey
-1 med zucchini, grated and patted dry
-1 med carrot, grated
-2 cloves garlic, minced
-3/4 tsp dried thyme
-3/4 tsp kosher salt
-1/4 tsp black pepper
-1 large egg
-3 Tbs olive oil
-4 slices crusty bread (or hamburger bunsif you prefer-I used buns because I had some left over)
-4 leaves lettuce of your choice (recipe called for Boston but I used Romaine as it fit my budget a bit better)

1. Preheat broiler. In a large bowl, combine the turkey, zucchini, carrot, garlic, thyme, salt, pepper, and egg. Form the mixture into 4 patties.
2. Heat 1 Tbs of the oil in a large skillet over meidum heat. Cook the patties, turning once, until no trace of pink remains, 4 to 5 minutes per side (pink in poultry burgers=BAD!).
3. Meanwhile, place the bread on a baking sheet and brush with the remaining oil. Broil until golden brown and crisp, about 1 1/2 minutes (If using hamburger buns, you may just toast them. That’s what I did!). Transfer the bread to individual plates. Top with the lettuce leaves and burgers, and garnish with your preferred condiments . I find a little bit of mayo-ness goes best with turkey burgers.

This recipe is adapted from Real Simple magazine.

I would definately recommend patting the zucchini dry, as I had a problem with the burgers falling apart a bit. I attribute it to the excess wetness of the mixture. I ended up making 5 patties instead of 4 with this and had a plain one for J and I lunch the next day. If you’re looking for something other than the boring old beef burger, this is definately one to try out. The spice mixture made it just as good as a naked patty as it did in the burger setting, if you’re one of those crazy people that is avoiding bread. Weirdo.

 

Leave a Reply

