Running with kitchen shears.

breakfast, lunch, dinner, cupcakes, tastiness.

So I got a new blackberry… June 25, 2008

Filed under: food,recipes — Mox. @ 5:08 am
Tags: , ,

A couple new ones, actually. From the fence on the border of my parents’ property a while back-I froze them when we got home because I wasn’t going to have a chance to use them just yet. If you’ve given any thought to picking wild food, being able to base a dish on something you picked yourself is pretty damned cool, even though this (originally for cranberry muffins) wasn’t the best recipe to change for it.

Blackberry Muffins

-2 c flour
-1/2 c sugar
-1 T baking powder
-1/2 tsp salt
-2/3 c orange juice
-2 eggs, slightly beaten
-3 Tbs butter, melted
-1 1/4 c fresh or frozen blackberries (or cranberries for cranberry muffins)-if frozen don’t thaw
-2 tsp grated orange rind *optional*

1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Place paper liners in muffin tins; set aside. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together into a mixing bowl. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture.
2. In a separate bowl, combine orange juice, eggs and melted butter. Pour into the well of the dry mixture. Stir until dry ingredients are just moistened. Batter may be a little lumpy. DO NOT over-mix or texture will be tough. Fold in remaining ingredients.
3.Fill each liner 2/3 full. Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Place pan on a rack to cool. for 5 minutes. Remove muffins from tin and continue cooling on rack. May be served warm or room temperature.

This recipe SAYS it makes 16 muffins, but I got closer to 14.

I probably should have replaced the orange juice with something else (I did skip the orange zest though-no oranges in the house!) All in all, these weren’t bad, even though I did almost cross the border from soft to tough. I’m definately going to retry this recipe in the fall with cranberries!
I love the eggs I’ve had lately-a lady I work with raises chickens and I can purchase them from her at a significantly lower price than at the store and I don’t have to worry about what sort of hormones anything is treated with. The shells have the most beautiful hues, from teal to blue to greenish to brown. They’re great.

 

Leave a Reply

